When Life Gets In The Way

stress

Good Morning Fit Geeks!

I know I know we took a little hiatus last week and I apologize for that.  Life got in the way.  Everything seemed to converge into a atomic explosion last week and all parts of my life seemed to blow up in my face. Nothing went to plan.  Work blew up in my face, we had a snow storm that messed my schedule all up, and I didn’t get as much studying done as I wanted to.

In case you haven’t figured it out I’m a control freak.  I like order. I LOVE planning.  I plan my days, my workouts, my work meetings, I plan a lot of things. I like to know whats coming. The unknown is scary to me and for that reason I do not like the dark as well but I digress.

So what did i do? I dealt with It.  Maybe not in the best way, but in the best way I knew how at the time. After the week ended I thought about all that had happened and wrote down what I could do differently next time.  Remember life is not about what happens but how you react to it. There is always room for improvement, especially dealing with people and situations.

Life is full of surprises and you can’t let that get in the way of your goals no matter what they are. Don’t let your job, your crazy family, or the weather get in the way of your goals.  Create a work around.  If it’s snowing find some channels on youtube like blogilates.  They have some great home workouts and its an opportunity to change you workout a bit!  For other things in my life I’m trying to go with the flow more. Taking deep breaths when things go haywire and remember that most likely this is a “first world problem”.  I have a job, a family that I love (most of the time), and my health.  That’s whats important.

So what do you do when things don’t go your way?  How do you deal with change?

Leave a comment